Panera Bread’s Chopped Chicken Cobb with Avocado Salad is a perfect everyday lunch

Panera's Chopped Chicken Cobb Avocado Salad

Romaine lettuce, grilled chicken, avocado, eggs, Gorgonzola, bacon, and herb vinaigrette = delicious

I wasn’t a fan of avocado or avocado-based foods like guacamole for most of my life, but Panera Bread’s delectable Chopped Chicken Cobb with Avocado Salad made me a believer.

It’s one of Panera’s Premium Signature selections which means it’s on the higher end of their menu’s price spectrum, but it’s well worth the asking price.

The salad features romaine lettuce tossed with meaty slices of grilled chicken, chunks of creamy avocado, diced hard boiled eggs, Gorgonzola cheese, bacon, and herb vinaigrette dressing.

The chicken breast is never dry — a result I can’t consistently produce myself when I cook chicken — and the avocado is always very creamy (I need to find out where they buy theirs because the ones I get from the market tend to be a bit firmer).

I could do with more hard boiled egg (I love eggs) and less Gorgonzola (which tastes good but has a sometimes overpowering flavor), and I would suggest asking them to go a tad lighter on the dressing since they tend to slather the salad in dressing.

As it stands, though, the Chopped Chicken Cobb with Avocado Salad is a delicious and pretty nutritious lunch time option for a reasonable price. It’s my favorite item on Panera’s menu, and I’ve had it for lunch almost every day since they opened a location near my office in Manhattan last year.

I credit them for offering this and other tasty choices that made it surprisingly easy for me personally to transition into a healthier, Type 2 Diabetes friendly diet!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

