Crazy about Greek yogurt

My refrigerator full of Greek yogurt

“I love Greek yogurt” is an understatement

I discovered Greek yogurt about a year ago not too long after its popularity in the U.S. market exploded. I had always been partial to yogurt as a pretty healthy breakfast or mid-afternoon snack, but truly this style of yogurt blows its more traditional cousin right out of the water.

There’s a good reason why Greek yogurt is all the craze right now: the Mediterranean originated process of straining the yogurt in order to remove the whey results in a yogurt that is thicker, richer and creamier in texture with a lot less sugar (roughly half the content) and significantly more protein (up to double the amount) for about the same number of calories.

It’s no wonder that Greek yogurt is selling like hotcakes with the most popular brand, Chobani, sitting pretty in the number one spot among all yogurts. Chobani’s fruit-on-the-bottom strawberry yogurt was the first variety I ever tried, and to this day it remains my favorite flavor from my favorite brand because the sourness of the yogurt is not overpowering like it is with some other brands and the fruit has more substance with actual chunks of strawberries instead of just a sugary sweet syrup.

The skyrocketing popularity of Greek yogurt has led to many companies jumping into the market which has been great for my wallet. Brands like Chobani, Oikos and Fage are frequently on sale at my local ShopRite — I can’t remember the last time I paid more than $1.25 for a 6 oz. cup of Chobani — and I can buy bulk pack of 12 cups of Chobani or Fage at Costco.

Rather than being a food fad that will pass in another year or two, I think Greek yogurt is just the evolution of the yogurt culture in this country. The affordability, availability and greater health benefits means it can be a key staple in a healthy diet, and the delicious taste makes it a good snack or dessert choice even for people who don’t need to count their calories or watch their sugar intake.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Crazy about Greek yogurt

  1. missemzyy January 20, 2013 at 2:35 am Reply

    Yum I absolutely love greek yogurt! I agree that Chobani is far the best. Recently I have been having them for snacks nearly everyday! I also didn’t really tend to eat yogurt but now I cannot get enough! The strawberry flavour is really delicious but I would have to go with passionfruit being my favourite hehe Its so great to hear that it is healthy and becoming more well known, Enjoy! 🙂

  2. natlee75 January 20, 2013 at 2:27 pm Reply

    I’ve only recently tried the passionfruit variety. I didn’t even know of its existence until a couple of months ago when my sister told me about the Chobani cafe in Soho, which I’m visiting sometime this week, where she first heard about it from the employees who told her that it always sells out very quickly. Then, about a month ago my local ShopRite got a case in so I snatched up a bunch of them. They’re quite good especially with the added “crunch” of the seeds. Count me as a fan!

  3. Alicia July 7, 2015 at 6:02 pm Reply

    I used to be really into Chobani years ago, I mean that’s all I used to buy and my refrigerator looked the same; stacked cups of Greek yogurt. Until I realized what I was actually eating. My go to flavors were strawberry, blueberry and pineapple.

    First off, we shouldn’t be calling this “Greek” yogurt. The Mediterranean way of processing cannot be done in a mass producing dairy product facility in the US. It’s not an easy process without adding thickeners and gelling ingredients (pectin, locust bean gum or even corn starch) that would create the desired creamy texture at a desired timely fashion.

    Second, let’s talk sugar: avg. 16g in one 5.3 oz container. That’s a lot. No matter where it comes from: evaporated cane juice, brown rice syrup…doesn’t matter, it’s still sugar. If I compare Chobani’s Greek Yogurt and Yoplait’s Original sugar contents, they actually average about the same (a difference of about 2g). Although, Chobani is a winner when it comes to protein; contains double than Yoplait’s Original.

    Third, color from juice made from concentrate. Big no, no. Again, we are injecting a seemingly perfectly natural yogurt with sugary juice made from concentrate? Not for me.

    I actually go for plain full fat Greek yogurt, add fresh fruit, mix and voila!
    Full fat does not mean unhealthy. I think this is a great misconception here. If one strips the natural fat content out of food, it is known that the food would be left tasteless and almost uneatable. By doing that, you are also stripping the full benefits of fatty acids and probiotics.The solution to fat-free or reduced fat tasteless foods is to pair it with sugar. So the result is that you will gain weight either way because of the sugar content.

Leave a Reply

