Maple Hill Creamery Organic Vanilla Creamline Yogurt

Maple Hill Creamery's organic vanilla creamline yogurt

I decided to have a “yogurt night” at my local Whole Foods Market after two weekend dinners that were not nearly as healthy as they should have been.

After a great taste experience with Whole Foods’ own 365 brand of Greek yogurt — specifically a cup of their pineapple variety — I unfortunately had a less than pleasant time with Maple Hill Creamery’s organic vanilla creamline yogurt.

I had seen the brand at a few Whole Foods locations, but I never bothered trying their products before because they don’t offer Greek yogurt which I almost exclusively eat since it packs more protein with less fat and sugar than “normal” yogurt. This one cup of Maple Hill delivers 13% of your daily fat and 26% of your daily saturated fat! To their credit, the sugar content isn’t horrible at 16 grams although I wonder where that sugar went because this yogurt is sour with no sweetness I could taste.

I tasted no vanilla flavor, and I certainly didn’t taste anything that could even pretend to be sweet. The yogurt tastes like they mixed in some pure lemon juice just for the heck of it. The sourness is overpowering here.

The consistency is a bit thin as well. I’m used to the heartier thickness of Greek yogurt, but even your standard Dannon or Yoplait fare has more body than this stuff.

The yogurt is gluten free so if those with gluten allergies can stomach the sourness this could be a good snack option, but this wasn’t a great first impression for me, and I don’t think I’m interested in trying any other flavors to be quite honest.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Maple Hill Creamery Organic Vanilla Creamline Yogurt

  1. Shredwell April 14, 2013 at 4:27 pm Reply

    I do not see how you can even compare it with the sugary dessert of Dannon. I do not think you are the target audience of maple hill yogurt. This is actually what real yogurt tastes like.

    • natlee75 April 14, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

      I don’t purport to know what the target audience of Maple Hill Creamery yogurt is or whether I fit into that bucket although I expect that they’re catering to people who don’t mind overpowering sourness. I won’t get into a debate with you about what constitutes “real yogurt” and instead just agree to disagree that yogurt is supposed to have this level of tartness.

    • natlee75 April 14, 2013 at 5:57 pm Reply

      I’d also like to point out that the only attribute of Dannon and Yoplait yogurts I was comparing to Maple Hill Creamery yogurt is the density. The “sugary dessert” quality doesn’t have much bearing on my opinion on the watery thinness of the yogurt.

      • yogurtEater June 19, 2014 at 11:22 am

        Maple Hill doesn’t use the thickners that are found in Danon & Yoplait, so it has a thinner body. It is more like yogurt you would make at home as opposed to the comercial varieties that you are used to.

  2. Debbie Vilage September 17, 2013 at 12:44 am Reply

    I am adducted to the Maple Hill Creamery yogurt. I prefer the Blueberry and Vanilla. I do like sour things so maybe that’s why it appeals to me. I especially like the small chunks after mixing, they taste like sweet butter. Yummy.
    I can understand why some may not like the taste, as I have noticed that most yogurt companies cover the yogurt taste by making it taste like creamy ice cream.
    To each his own. It just leaves more of the Maple Hill for me.

  3. Debbie Vilage September 17, 2013 at 12:45 am Reply

    Meant to say “addicted”

  4. whitastics October 15, 2013 at 9:15 am Reply

    I tried this yogurt too in the maple flavor. It was almost too sour to eat! I thought about throwing it out because I thought it was bad, but I managed to get a few bites down. I don’t think I will be buying this yogurt again. Glad to know someone else thought the same thing I did!

  5. whitastics October 15, 2013 at 9:21 am Reply

    However, after I commented here, I checked out their website. I guess they are going for a “traditional tart” flavor. At least I know I didn’t eat yogurt that had gone bad. I still won’t be buying it again, but who knows, there may be people out there who like that taste.

  6. Megha January 27, 2014 at 9:17 am Reply

    I like this yogurt, but I always get plain yogurt and add my own honey. Whenever it is plain yogurt it is extremely sour, but by adding my own sweetener I can offset the sour, and I actually know exactly what is being added. I agree it is not creamy like Greek yogurt, but I prefer the health benefits of grass-fed cows and have not found any Greek yogurt from grass-fed cows. Let me know if you know of any!

  7. Luke February 17, 2015 at 3:10 pm Reply

    I completely agree with your assessment of this yogurt. I don’t find it at all appealing. In fact, I was fairly certain it must have gone bad. They must get frequent complaints/comments about it because they state on the foil “Tart” and “Tangy” along with instructions on how to handle the cream top. You know you’re product probably needs some work when you have to “warn” customers about what they’re about to experience.

    I make my own yogurt with all natural ingredients, and it’s 1000 times better than this. I don’t understand why they bother making it. It doesn’t have to taste this way, or have this flimsy texture.

Leave a Reply

